Grace-filled Melancholy

11034265_561657117270674_4454580561784345379_nIt is finished.

Here I am at the airport waiting for my flight going back to Cebu.  As I am now writing this entry for my blog today, there are a lot of thoughts and insights that preoccupy my mind.  Maybe, I was just so gloomy about our batch alumni homecoming that happened yesterday.  Actually, my mind feels this ‘hangover’ and I cannot but say these words unto my psyche; “It finished so fast.  Really, time is so short for saying your ‘hi’s’ and ‘hello’s’ to those people whom you missed for ten years.

Aside from the inspirational Mass, tiring basketball games, evening motorcade, good food, and overflowing beers and wines; one thing that I will really cherish during the batch alumni homecoming yesterday was the good company of friends.  To be honest (my dear classmates), there were a lot of changes that happened to us from the past ten years but the friendship we had  never changed rather it lasted.

Actually, I decided to stay even though it’s already past 2:00 in the morning because I missed you all so much. Though I still have a lot of things to do in preparation for my flight going back to Cebu I chose to be with you because I know this kind of opportunity comes once in a blue moon only.  Indeed, everything has changed, but memories will remain and stay the same.

While writing this here at the airport, I cannot hold back my tears not because of sadness, but because of joy and nostalgia.  I am so blessed and so proud that, despite the hardships and demands of following the will of God with my life, there you are my friends, my batchmates, and acquaintances ready to lend your helping hand for me to go on with the battle and move forward as a comrade of Christ.

With this, I am so thankful to all of you and felt so lucky to belong to such batch.  I am so happy that you are also proud of me as I continue persevering in the kind of path where few only are chosen. Surely, it will be a tough climb but as long as I have Christ in me and these supportive batchmates, I know I can make it through.

Listening to my batchmates’ words of encouragement and advanced congratulatory remarks alongside hugs and handshakes, I felt relieved from so many doubts and anxieties that crossed my mind.  I really miss these things as I now go back to my normal hectic schedules and unfinished responsibilities which include same daily routines.

Now that I am going back to Cebu, I would like thank you my dear batchmates for a very successful reunion yesterday.  It was really an unforgettable experience on my part.  Even though time really is not enough for me to approach and talk to all of you, I will not forget everyone in my prayers and sacrifices. I will forever be grateful for having you.  You are the reason why I am here in this kind of life. Your kindness and support mean a lot for me as I pursue the path to priesthood.

All I am asking from you is to continue to pray for me and support me as I am now on my crucial stages of my formation.  Don’t worry your help and prayers will be assured, reciprocated, and returned by God.  I hope you will never get tired of helping me because it’s all for you and that’s the purpose why I am still moving forward to this kind of vocation.

Leave a Reply

