The Broken Road (Part 1)

Bless_the_Broken_Road_by_UCSDwaspEvery journey are sometimes challenging, embarrassing, and difficult.  Unfortunate events and hopelessness may come along the way as we walk through this life.  Hence, it’s really too hard to accept the fact that there are broken roads which really hinders us to see the beauty and the significance of God’s love, mercy, and compassion into our lives.  I myself could say that I am not exempted to experience this inevitable reality.  An old maxim is right on saying that in every man’s journey there are challenges to endure, difficulties to bear, and pains to accept.  But, along my journey, what it seems to be tragic, depressing, perplex, uneasy, and unwelcoming to my naked eyes is grace in the eyes of faith?  Why?  Why broken roads in my life are blessings in disguise in order that I may be able to feel and abide the love of God into my life?

It may be ironic to say that every broken road into our lives is a saving grace.  How I may be able to feel okay, hopeful, and joyful if I am crying in pain and sorrow along the several broken roads that I encounter in my journey?  As I contemplate upon this, I realized that every broken road in life is part of a grandeur plan prepared for me by God.  Henceforth, if there’s always rainbow after the rain, it’s the same with every road that I encounter along my journey.  There are always straight roads after broken roads.  It means to say, in every pain there’s joy; in every struggle, there’s gain; in every sorrow; there’s love, and in every challenges; there’s hope.  In this realization, the invitation of God for me is this, not to lose patience and faith on facing every broken road in my life.  Yes, I admit that I am not comfortable to be okay and optimistic in facing every broken road that I walk through in life.  But, this is what it means to welcome the love of God into my life.  It’s unbearable and unacceptable, but how may I able to recognize His love into my life, if even I cannot let myself pass into the needle’s eye?

Leave a Reply

