On Talents and Productivity

spc010319cloAt the end of this day two questions bothered my mind as I reflected upon the Gospel for today; am I grateful for the gifts and opportunities given me as a follower of the Lord?  Do I use my talents, whatever they are, to live out the commandment of love?  As I read upon the Gospel thoroughly the message is so obvious, i.e. we must use wisely and productively the talents or opportunities that the Lord has given and granted to us.  But, as I reexamined it and let it speaks unto my consciousness what struck me most is the intensity of its message.  The Gospel for today may look ordinary and palpable for me, but when I let it move my heart there’s something new that I discover within it especially when it speaks about perseverance of one’s talent.  This is what I learned from the Gospel; it’s not on the quantity of our talents that we may be able to become fruitful, productive, and responsible in life rather, it is on how we persevere in nurturing our talents even if they are just insignificant and eye-catching in front of others for the benefit of our life and of others.  In the Gospel, God assures us that whenever we used our talents productively He will surely say these words of consolation and appreciation to us; “Well done, my good and faithful servant.  Since you were faithful in small matters, I will give you great responsibilities.  Come; share your master’s joy.”  It sounds uplifting and encouraging right!  So, the invitation of the Gospel for me today is not to give up persevering, showing, and giving the talents that I have for the betterment of my life and other’s life.  With this, it’s confirmable that when you give your whole self to others and nourish it productively it ripples joy.

Going back to the two questions that bothered my mind as I reflected upon the Gospel, I could say that I am doing my best to be grateful with the talents that I have even though it’s just only few and to live out the commandment of love through my talents.  I admit that there are also times that I fall short in this invitation of the Lord because of selfishness and self-interest.  But though there are these things that keep on hindering and disturbing my attention with the Lord’s invitation, I really still persevere though others may find it silly.  Just like I am doing right now; I blog because I would like to help, guide, inspire, and motivate people through my life and faith stories.  At first, I found blogging a boring stuff because I am not really gaining something and writing is not my passion.  But suddenly I realized that I have the talent in writing and God granted this gift to me so that I may be able to move the hearts of the people who long for Him and I may be able also to enlighten their minds that He is Love.  Realizing these things made me more encouraged to continue persevering in this talent and opportunity that God has given to me.  To be consistent with this kind of job is not so easy because it takes time, effort, and serious reflections.  But, it’s a worthwhile job because in my simple stories and reflections that I’ve shared I am proud to say that I already inspired and moved hearts and this what the Gospel for today is all about-disseminating the goodness of the Lord through our talents even if it’s minute and average in the eyes of the world; it’s already valuable and noteworthy in the eyes of God if and only if it’s persevered.

Leave a Reply

