There’s Something Good in Death

Skogskyrkogården_at_All_Saints_Day_2010-1Death is a fact of life.  We cannot control it because it is something innate in our corporeality.  As we walk in this journey called life, one of the many things in life that we would like to forget and ignore but we accept as it is because it is inevitable is Death.  We are afraid to die.  We are afraid to leave our loved ones left behind.  We hate death because it is something horrible, depressing, and sad.  But, the gospel for today shows to us the positive side of death if and only if we see it through the eyes of faith.  Only faith could help us to see that death is a gift and an assurance to see the Lord face to face and to experience eternity in God’s paradise.  “Do not let your hearts be troubled….I am the way and the truth and the life”; this is the invitation of our Lord for us not to fear death.  Only death could help us to grasp wholly the way, the truth, and the light.  Hence, death is not the end of everything.  Our journey will continue even though we already faced the final curtain of our lives.  But wait there’s a guarantee for us as we faced death.  Jesus said in the gospel; “In my Father’s house there are many dwelling places.  If there were not, would I have told you that I am going to prepare a place for you?  And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back again and take you to myself, so that where I am you also may be.”  Thus, these words coming from the mouth of Jesus is what we will be going to encounter when we die, i.e. joy, contentment, everlasting happiness, and everlasting life, but only through faith that we may be able to consider and cherish these things.  So, when we are now on the final countdown of our lives, do not let our knees be wiggled and trembled, instead let it be with a conviction and firm faith.  As I continue to reflect the gospel, one insight popped up into my mind that as I continue to cherish my life here on earth, I should also be aware that someday I will also have the privilege to face death.  Faith…Faith…Faith, this is the only thing that I should hold on to.  It is in Faith that death is an honor and a bridge to embrace the unconditional love of God.

Leave a Reply

