For Many are Called, but Few are Chosen

chosenLast Sunday gospel enlightened my mind about how God calls us in the ordinary events of our lives.  His call is like an initial invitation for a feast.  We are being called by God every day to partake on it.  Just like what the gospel showed to us yesterday, God assumed in us that we have already formally accepted His initial invitation.  Unfortunately, because of our wrong interpretation of free choice and human freedom, we have the tendency to become more interested in our own affairs than God’s affairs.  Worse still, we mistreat and ignore His call which actually brings answers to our doubts and anxieties in life.

Actually, I cannot excuse myself that I too have the tendency also to be interested in my own affairs than God’s affairs.  Every day He invites me to partake in His plans that He prepared for me, but instead of saying “yes” on it, I let my ears and heart to be distracted and disrupted by the many allurements of the world.  I tend to be self-centered than God-centered.  The more I disregard the invitation of God into my life, the more I become numb with His loving presence into my life.  From this experience I learned that when you lose yourself with the will of God along your journey in life, life seems so complicated and incomplete.  Indeed, many are called but few are chosen.  Why?  It’s because of our fear to commit ourselves with His call.

Many of us responded with His call just like me.  Unfortunately, we do otherwise than what we must supposed to do which is proper to His call.  The best example of it was the man in the gospel who did not wear his best suit for the wedding banquet and thrown away in the darkness where there was wailing and grinding of teeth.  As I reflect upon it, I cannot but be honest with myself that there are times I am not taking seriously the will of God into my life.  So, instead of growing into the light of God’s love, I let myself to be covered by the darkness of sin and temptation to be by myself.  From this Sunday gospel I realize that responding to the invitation of God takes a lot of effort, seriousness, and dedication in order that my decisions and aspirations in life may be in line with it.  It’s hard to move on when there’s no right guides that could only be realized and recognized if and only if we let ourselves to be subdued and be plunged by God’s invitation.

Hence, we are being called by God for a greater purpose in life.  It’s up to us whether we say our “yes” wholeheartedly or halfheartedly.  God respects our freedom, but being careless of our own freedom to choose what is good, pleasing, and perfect for us does not guarantee a life that is bounded in perfect joy and happiness.  Thus the gospel is inviting us to consider the significance of His invitation into our lives that which grant us a better perspective and motivation in life as we journey for reasons and aspirations of our existence here on earth.

#tidbitsforlife (On Regrets, Opportunities, and Moving On)

screen_shot_2013-02-15_at_6.34.09_pmWhen we ignore and disregard opportunities in our lives, the tendency for us is to regret.  According to an unknown author regrets can hold us back and prevent the most wonderful things taking place in our lives.  So, let us not be an easy-going individual when opportunities draw near into our lives.  Welcome it with joy and gladness in our hearts because it brings possibilities that will help us to reach our goals and dreams.  Opportunities should not be wasted; rather it should be used as our guide towards the path of success.

Relating this to my personal experiences, I admit, I wasted a lot of opportunities in life.  I made a lot of excuses in order to keep myself away from the demands of many opportunities that came into my life simply because I am afraid of committing mistakes.  The more I escape myself with the demands of many opportunities that drawing near into my life, the more the feeling of regret, fear, and guilt overshadows my being.  When these things bother me a lot, I cannot but cry and be sorry with myself.  With this experience I realize that every opportunity in life is like gifts that should not be taken for granted.  Though it demands something great we should not be afraid of it.  In every opportunity, demands are just means for us to achieve success in life.  As we do our best to welcome the demands of every opportunity that we encounter in life, let us not forget the words of Brian Adams in his book How to Succeed; “Demands (Difficulties) are opportunities to better things.  They are stepping stones to greater experience.”