The Search for the Pearl of Great Value

pearl-great-priceHave you already found the pearl of great value as you go on in this journey called religious life?  This question was been asked to me six years ago by my Spiritual Father when I was still a postulant.  The same question was reiterated to me by the gospel for today as it tells us about the pearl of great value.  Have I already found the pearl of great value in my life?  Nine years have passed and I am still going through this journey called religious life.  My experience would tell me that I already encountered a lot of good, pleasant, splendid, and even worst things in my life and I also experienced a lot of success and failures in my life.  As I had experienced all these things, did I already encountered and experienced the pearl of great value in my life?  Did I already find it?  Did I already say with that many instances in my life that “Alas, I found it!  I am ready to give up and to abandon everything because now I already found the pearl that I am searching and longing for so long”?  To be honest, I haven’t found it yet, but I am still searching for it.

You know what’s my problem why I am still not finding the pearl of great value?  To tell you honestly, the greatest enemy that I have why I am still searching for the pearl of great value is I.  I am a person that is full of me.  Then, sometimes fear also hinders me to take the risk of searching and finding the pearl of great value.  No matter what effort that I exert all the more, pride and fear blocks my sight and my actuations to seek and to gaze upon the pearl of great value.  I always allow myself to be subordinated by many pearls of great value with my pilgrimage, but it seems that they lost their valuableness afterwards for they are just mere flatteries and illusions.

Still the Word of God is patient with me and it is still inviting me and reminding me to continue searching and move on.  The gospel does not disregard the reality that seeking and searching for the pearl of great value demands a lot of time and effort, but, it gave me an assurance today that if I continue to move on and to search for its significance into my life, it will never fail me to experience constant joy and happiness with my life.  It also motivates me to give more effort to go on in this journey even though sometimes it is risky and takes a lot of patience, endurance, and perseverance.

Leave a Reply

