Mary most Chaste (My Marian Sermonette I delivered in Father Di Francia Center of Studies, Don Jose Greencourt, Sucat, Parañaque City last October 2011)

To be honest, I am neither an avid devotee of Mary nor a diehard Marian religious, but I am struggling to become one.  The only thing that I could share about Our Lady tonight is her significant role as the model of Chastity.  My intention to share this thing is not to endorse the advocacy of the Livepure Movement, but to share my struggles in living the vow of chastity and how I consider Our Lady as the model of chastity.

Adequately considering myself situated on the influx of change in this world, a question popped-up into my mind; is Chastity still valid and possible today?  We cannot deny the fact that the more the world engages herself in a massive change and liberalism, the more what is not to be exposed is being exposed, and the more what is not to be exposed is being exposed, the more our brain cells and our investigative eyes are getting wild due to the provoking and pleasing distractions we encounter.  Who could say he is not being provoked when he sees intentionally or unintentionally a thing that he should not expect to see or he should not see?  Human as we are, we cannot deny the fact that we are being provoked whenever we see a thing that we should not expect to see or we should not see because it is in our composition as men to be enticed and electrified whenever we see a thing that entice and electrify us.  But, this is not proper for us because we are Religious and we have the vow of Chastity.

We accept and profess the vow of Chastity not because we fear married life, but we are called to be a witness of God’s love, to be a living protest against the narrow view which identifies love with sex and to be at the service of God’s kingdom.  Unfortunately, as I reflect upon these things, I realize that it is easy to say than to externalize it.  We cannot deny the fact that we fall short when it comes to externalizing our vow of Chastity in our day to day living.  I don’t exempt myself in this difficulty for I also fall short as I do my very best to realize and externalize the vow.  To be honest, I feel the shame of entering the chapel for personal prayer whenever I cannot resist the lustful thoughts that keep on bothering and distracting me due to unintentional exposures, mind-shaking provocations and stimulating images that I saw and entertained.  Due to this experience, I realize how important the role of Our Lady is as I am struggling and persevering to live a chaste life.  Through her examples, I realize that Chastity is still possible though the world misconceive it.  Through her, I realize that to live a chaste life means to entail suffering, responsibilities and unselfishness for the sake of God’s love which greater than Human love identified as sex by the postmodern man.  Hence, she proved to me through her examples that Chastity frees the heart of a person, so that he/she may become more fervent in loving God and in loving his/her neighbour.

Her examples are so immense, yet challenging for me on how I may be able to recognize more her role as I persevere and struggle to live a chaste life.  Going back to my question; Is Chastity still valid and possible today?  Yes, it is still possible because we have the model as we do our very best to live a chaste life, i.e. Mary, Our Lady of Chastity, who proved to us that to live a chaste life is possible.

 

Leave a Reply

