There’s GAIN in PAIN

In life, PAIN is inevitable. Everytime we do our best to escape PAIN, there will always be a moment when we still experience it. We cannot escape on its effect. When we speak of PAIN, we feel horrified and terrified for it causes us to stumble and fall, first and foremost. So, we try our best to forget the most painful experience in our lives that made us cry, dumbfounded and sad because it’s like a nightmare. But, is there a particular moment in your life that there’s GAIN in PAIN? On the many painful experiences that you encountered, do you have some unforgettable experiences wherein you’ve been healed by the painful experiences in your life? Sounds weird, right? Initially, we could immediately say that these questions are unimaginable. How could painful experiences be a way for us to know who we are, to accept our brokenness and to love ourselves in spite of the shortcomings and limitations that we have? To be honest, I was taken aback encountering these questions for the first time. But, as I reflect upon these questions, which sound silly for me, I realized that there’s GAIN in PAIN.

 When I was reflecting upon the benefits of PAIN, the reality game show entitled, “The Biggest Loser” popped-up into my mind. How many of you watched this reality game show? The show’s title speaks for itself; this reality game show is all about losing weight. There is a group of “BIG” contestants who joined the game and take the risk of losing their weight for the cash prize. But, as I watched the reality game show keenly, there are set of traits being highlighted in the reality game show: DISCIPLINE, PATIENCE, SELF-CONTROL, PERSISTENCE and COURAGE. In order to gain these traits, which are very important for winning the cash prize at stake, they need to involve themselves in heavy and painful work-out consistently. Comparing it to the weird and silly statement, “There’s GAIN in PAIN,” I realized that there really is wisdom behind this statement. In fact, the reality game show helped me to understand that pain is beneficial in every person’s journey towards life. It is in pain that we become courageous and steadfast.

Experience taught me what gain I got from pain. It is PAIN that made me to accept who I am. PAIN purified me. PAIN, even though difficult to be considered as an essential ingredient in life, helped me to be aware of the fact that life cannot exist and attain its meaning without it. It is because of PAIN that now I am contented of being who I am. PAIN has helped me to see the inner beauty within me despite the brokenness, woundedness and shortcomings that I have. I hope this simple and humbling entry of mine may encourage you to see the brighter side of pain and the wisdom behind it. Recognize and analyze the importance of painful experiences in our life. How great, special and optimistic life would be if we are convinced that PAIN adds meaning and color in our life. (I am not advocating masochism and sadism here, please be reminded. They are an entirely different topic.)

Now, are you ready to accept the fact that “there’s GAIN in PAIN”? I hope so.

Leave a Reply

